Post-Treatment Depression

I totally agree with The Cancer Curmudgeon here. Owning my feelings has been key to me being able to start on the road to mental recovery after this experience. I still have days of depression or anger, and I “ride” them knowing that after everything I’ve been through I have a right to those feelings.

anotheronewiththecancer

I’ve been seeing a few graphics and posts on the internet about May being Mental Health Awareness Month, and a few blurbs mention cancer’s impact on one’s mental health. These pieces reminded me of how lost and down, maybe even depressed, I felt after I completed treatment. For me, the worst part was, and still is, the anger I had/have about cancer. I wrote this post last summer about an epiphany I had, at which point I began to improve a great deal. I continue to improve thanks to the therapeutic aspects of writing it all out on this blog.

That said, I am certainly not suggesting my method of getting better is one that anyone else should try. In fact, I’d say the opposite. However, the past year of dipping my toe into the realm of social media tells me that I am not alone with many of my…

View original post 1,076 more words

Leave a Reply

